The Circle of the Church Year. Each section represents a week in the calendar year. The three main liturgical actions are marked by special symbols. The star is Christmas Day, the cross is Easter Sunday, the flame is Pentecost. The church year starts on the first Sunday in Advent, the first blue section in the Circle of the Church Year.